Chris Froome stamps his authority with win on Criterium du Dauphine stage five

Chris Froome on podium, Criterium du Dauphine 2013, stage five

Chris Froome (Sky) stamped his authority on the Criterium du Dauphine with an impressive victory on stage five to take the overall lead from Rohan Dennis (Garmin-Sharp) and send a warning shot to his rivals ahead of the Tour de France. 

From behind a typical Sky lead out Froome pounced on a late attack in the final 1.3km by Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff), catching the Spaniard before edging past him on the run in to the line.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.