Galimzyanov defies Sky mass assault in Luxembourg

Denis Galimzyanov wins, Tour of Luxembourg 20911, stage one

Russian Denis Galimzyanov (Katusha) managed to hold off half of the Sky team to win the sprint at the end of the opening road stage in the 2011 Tour of Luxembourg.

Sky managed to place four riders in the top six of the stage - Greg Henderson, Davide Appollonio, Mathew Hayman and Briton Jeremy Hunt placed second, third, fourth and sixth respectively. But even though they had the numerical advantage, none could beat Galimzyanov to the line in Bascharage.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.