GreenEdge and RadioShack receive WorldTour status

Cycling Weekly news logo

Australia will have its first top-division team, GreenEdge to go with its first Tour de France winner. The Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) licence commission announced late this afternoon that GreenEdge and RadioShack will complete a list of 18 WorldTour teams for next season.

"On the basis of the documents submitted," read a UCI press release, "the commission approved the registration of the RadioShack-Nissan and granted a WorldTour licence to the GreenEdge Cycling Team."

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Gregor Brown

Gregor Brown is an experienced cycling journalist, based in Florence, Italy. He has covered races all over the world for over a decade - following the Giro, Tour de France, and every major race since 2006. His love of cycling began with freestyle and BMX, before the 1998 Tour de France led him to a deep appreciation of the road racing season.