British Cycling logo

Great Britain have named a 23-strong squad for the World Track Championships in Manchester from March 26-30.


Steven Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Steve Cummings

Rob Hayles

Paul Manning

Geraint Thomas

Bradley Wiggins


Lizzie Armitstead

Kate Cullen

Wendy Houvenaghel

Rebecca Romero

Jo Rowsell


Matt Crampton

David Daniell

Ross Edgar

Chris Hoy

Jason Kenny

Jamie Staff


Anna Blyth

Victoria Pendleton

Shanaze Reade

Jessica Varnish

? One of the key selection issues was the competition for places in the men's team sprint. Craig MacLean and Jason Queally have been left out, narrowing the battle for the final trio down to five. However, both MacLean and Queally are still in the running for an Olympic place later in the year

? Young pursuiter Steven Burke gets a call-up after making his debut in the team quartet at the Copenhagen World Cup last month

? Two young sprinters ? David Daniell of Middlesbrough and Jess Varnish of Bromsgrove ? are perhaps the only surprise names on the list. Daniell has won five gold medals in the past two years in the junior world and European track championships

? Victoria Pendleton's aim to challenge for four gold medals in the five-day championships is still on the cards

? Wendy Houvenaghel, Rebecca Romero, Jo Rowsell and Lizzie Armitstead are the four names in the mix to make Great Britain's debut in the women's team pursuit

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1