Marzio Bruseghin (Lampre) surprised the big names in the Giro d?Italia on Friday, snatching victory in the 12.6km mountain time trial from Biella to the Oropa sanctuary.

Bruseghin set a time of 28-55 for the tough climb, beating Leonardo Piepoli (Saunier Duval) by a second and Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas) by eight seconds. Bruseghin has been a professional for 11 years but it was his first stage win at the Giro and only his second victory of his career, after winning the Italian time trial title in 2006.

Thanks to his win, Bruseghin reduced the gap on race leader Di Luca to 55 seconds. Andy Schleck (CSC) is third at 1-27.

?It?s great to win a stage but I?m not an overall favuorite,? Bruseghin said.

?I?m a domestique who enjoys working for others and I?ve no regrets.?

The mountain time trial was a painful race of truth for most of Di Luca?s overall rivals. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) limited his loses, finishing 30 seconds slower than Di Luca. Andy Schleck (CSC) lost 32 seconds but Gilberto Simoni (Saunier Duval) lost 58 seconds and Paolo Savoldelli lost 1-38.

Di Luca insisted he is still worried about the final week of the Giro in the Dolomites but is gradually strengthening his grip on the pink jersey.

?I rode a good time trial but I?m not bothered about not winning the stage because Bruseghin is a better time trialist and gained a few seconds on the easier final section,? Di Luca said.

?I?ve gained more time on my rivals than I thought I would. The Giro is far from over but I?m happy with another good stage. Bruseghin is the closest in the overall standings but I know he?s not an overall favourite. The big threats are still Simoni, Cunego and Schleck, with Simoni the most dangerous because of his experience and strength in the final week of the race.?

The next decisive stage for the battle for the pink jersey is Sunday?s 15th stage from Trento to the Tre Cime di Lavaredo in the heart of the Dolomites.

Saturday?s 192km fourteenth stage is from Cantu to Bergamo, near Milan. It includes a major climb halfway through the stage which is expected to inspire an attack by climbers out of the overall standings.


1 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre-Fondital 12.6km in 28-55

2 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita) Saunier Duval at 1sec

3 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas at 8secs

4 David Zabriske (USA) CSC at 19secs

5 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas at 22secs

6 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone at 29secs

7 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems at 31secs

8 Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) Astana at 33secs

9 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Fondital at 38secs

10 Andy Schleck (Lux) CSC at 40secs


25 Charles Wegelius (GBr) Liquigas at 2-07

111 Steven Cummings (GBr) Discovery Channel at 4-28


1 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas in 57-11-28

2 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre-Fondital at 55secs

3 Andy Schleck (Lux) CSC at 1-57

4 Damiano Cunego (ita) Lapre-Fondital at 2-40

5 Francisco Vila (Esp) Lampre-Fondital at 2-44

6 David Arroyo (Esp) Caisse d’Epargne at 2-51

7 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Tinkoff Credit Systems at 3-11

8 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saunier Duval at 3-32

9 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria at 3-52

10 Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) Astana at 3-53


42 Charles Wegelius (GBr) Liquigas at 22-43

116 Steve Cummings (GBr) Discovery Channnel at 1-18-26