Cavendish equals Millar's Brit record at Vuelta

Mark Cavendish wins Vuelta a Espana 2010 stage 12

When Mark Cavendish won stage 12 of the 2010 Vuelta a Espana he became only the second British rider to take individual stage wins at all three grand tours.

Robert Millar, the Glasgow-born climber, won stages at the Tour de France, Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana in the 1980s.

Cavendish, from the Isle of Man, netted the stage win in Lleida on Thursday, September 9, as he seeks to prepare for the World Championships in October.

Robert Millar's five grand tour stages

1983 Tour de France - Bagnères de Luchon

1984 Tour de France - Guzet Neige

1986 Vuelta a Espana - Lagos de Covadonga

1987 Giro d'Italia - Pila

1989 Tour de France - Superbagnères

Mark Cavendish's 20 grand tour stages

2008 Giro d'Italia - Lungomare and Citadella

2008 Tour de France - Chateauroux, Toulouse, Narbonne and Nimes

2009 Giro d'Italia - Milan, Arenzano and Florence

2009 Tour de France - Brignoles, La Grande-Motte, Issoudun, St Fargeau, Aubenas and Paris

2010 Tour de France - Montargis, Gueugnon, Bourg-les-Valence, Bordeaux and Paris

2010 Vuelta a Espana - Lleida, Burgos

Related link

From Robinson to Cavendish - Every British grand tour stage winner

Vuelta a Espana 2010: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1