Mark Cavendish Tour of Ireland stage 1

Quadruple Tour de France stage winner Mark Cavendish (Columbia) underlined his sprint king status by winning the first stage of the 2008 Tour of Ireland today (Wednesday, August 27).

The Manxman beat Garmin-Chipotle fastman Julian Dean to the line at the end of the stage from Dublin to Waterford, with Britain's Dean Downing (Rapha-Condor-Recycling) raising his game against the international field by taking fifth.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.