Team leader Ivan Basso opted not to ride the 48-km Eindhoven team time trial but CSC won anyway with yet another show of their slick team work.

Lars Bak, Michael Blaudzun, Bobby Julich, Christian Muller, Stuart O'Grady, Brian Vandborg, Jens Voigt and David Zabriskie team set a time of 52-28 for the 48-km course, beating big rivals Discovery Channel into second place by 42 seconds.

2005 winners Gerolsteiner were third at 55 seconds and Phonak ? who recently confirmed iShares as new sponsor for the next three years, were fourth at 1-25.

?Our riders were really motivated today, and everything worked out for us," Riis said on the Team CSC web site.

"We had some very experienced riders on the team as well as some of the younger ones, and it was great to see them working together so well.?

?The team time trial is an important discipline for us, because it calls for some of the skills, which we value a great deal: To be able to work together as a team, to be able to communicate and approach a task with one common goal in mind. We were the favourites and it was a pleasure to live up to this honour."

Riis will be in London with Ivan Basso on Monday for an international press conference and a visit to CSC offices in Aldershot.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1