Floyd Landis (Phonak) has virtually sealed overall victory in the 2006 Tour de France after retaking the yellow jersey from Spain's Oscar Pereiro (Caisse d'Epargne) in Saturday?s decisive time trial.

Serguei Gonchar (T-Mobile) won the 57km test in a time of 1-07-45 but Landis was third in 1-08-56 and was 1-29 faster than Pereiro (fourth) and more than three minutes faster than Carlos Sastre (CSC).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.