More medals for Britain at European track championships

European Track Champs 2008 logo

British junior sprint sensation Becky James just missed out on a hat-trick of gold medals at the European Track Championships in Minsk, Belarus this evening when she finished second in the Keirin.

The 17 year old, who earlier in the week won the individual sprint and the 500m time trial, was beaten to the finish by a Russian rival then brought down in a crash just beyond the line.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Simon Richardson
Magazine editor

Editor of Cycling Weekly magazine, Simon has been working at the title since 2001. He fell in love with cycling 1989 when watching the Tour de France on Channel 4, started racing in 1995 and in 2000 he spent one season racing in Belgium. During his time at CW (and Cycle Sport magazine) he has written product reviews, fitness features, pro interviews, race coverage and news. He has covered the Tour de France more times than he can remember along with two Olympic Games and many other international and UK domestic races. He became the 130-year-old magazine's 13th editor in 2015.