Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta: Team Profile

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta
The runaway top British team of last year faces 2010 without its star performer, Russell Downing, as he heads for pastures new with Team Sky.

The man from Rotherham took a mighty 14 out of 18 wins for the squad – previously known as CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta – so the pocket-sized Yorkshireman leaves a big hole to plug.

Aiming to step into the breach will be former Halfords Bikehut trio Ed Clancy, Andy Tennant and Ian Bibby, members of the Tour Series-winning team in 2009. Pete Williams could get more chances to star with Downing gone, while the hugely experienced Malcolm Elliott is captain on the road.

The 10-man team will challenge for the Premier Calendar, Tour Series, Tour of Britain, Tour of Ireland and a number of international and continental events. Former Halfords Bikehut manager Keith Lambert takes charge behind the wheel of the team car.

Motorpoints Marshalls Pasta team 2010

Malcolm Elliott
Jonny McEvoy
Lee Davis
Ian Bibby
Andy Roche
James Sampson
Andy Tennant
Ed Clancy
Steven Burke


Keith Lambert


1st Ian Bibby, National cyclo-cross Championship
1st Joshua Edmondson, Eddie Soens Memorial
1st Malcolm Elliott (individual result), Tour Series Round 2 – Durham
1st Motorpoint, Tour Series Round 2 – Durham
1st Ian Bibby (individual result), Tour Series Round 3 – Portsmouth
1st Motorpoint, Tour Series Round 3 – Portsmouth




Cycling Weekly British Team Profiles: Index

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta team rev up for 2010 season