Giro d'Italia 2007

Marco Pinotti (T-Mobile) is the new leader of the Giro d?Italia and made it clear which side he is on in the fight against doping with some strong words in his first after-race Giro press conference.

Pinotti was part of a five-rider long-range attack that shaped the 179km sixth stage from Tivoli to Spoleto on Friday and then broke away with Colombia?s Luis Felipe Laverde of the Panaria team, 20km from Spoleto. Pinotti let Laverde win the stage, knowing he would pull on the race leader?s pink jersey because the main peloton and previous race leader Danilo Di Luca of Italy finished 7-09 behind. Pinotti now leads Hubert Schwab (Quick Step) by 3-30, while slipped to third place overall at 4:12.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1