Rapha-Condor names Tour of Britain squad

Tour of Britain 2009 logo

Rapha-Condor has announced its line-up for this year's Tour of Britain, which starts in Scunthorpe on Saturday, September 12.

British national champion Kristian House heads up the team, where he will be joined by Chris Newton, Darren Lapthorne, Dan Craven, Simon Richardson and Tom Southam.

“It was fairly easy selection process, with the only tough decision being whether Ben Greenwood could make the team following the all clear after his recent illness in China," said team manager John Herety.

"But in talks with Ben it was felt that his form isn’t quite where it needs to be for a race of this stature. He’ll concentrate now in making himself ready for the teams objectives out in Australia over the winter.”

Rapha-Condor will be up against a heavyweight selection of ProTour and Pro Continental teams, as well as fellow British squads Halfords-Bikehut and CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta.

The eight-stage 2009 Tour of Britain starts in Scunthorpe on Saturday, September 12, and finishes with a criterium stage around Westminster, London on Saturday, September 19.

Related links

Tour of Britain 2009: Start list

Katusha and Rabobank announce Tour of Britain teams

Bradley Wiggins set to ride the Tour of Britain

Cavendish to miss Tour of Britain

Tour of Britain on ITV

Tour of Britain 2008 review

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1