Welcome to cyclingweekly.co.uk‘s coverage of the 2009 World Track Championships from the BGZ Arena in Pruszkow, Poland.

You can access all our live coverage, event-by-event reports, news and analysis from this page.

Follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/cyclingweekly too.

CW preview: 2009 Track cycling world championships

All times are UK times. Poland is one hour ahead of the UK

After 19 of 19 events
1 Australia 4 gold 4 silver 2 bronze
2 France 3 gold 2 silver 1 bronze
3 Great Britain 2 gold 4 silver 3 bronze
4 Denmark 2 gold 1 silver 0 bronze
5 Germany 2 gold 0 silver 1 bronze
6 New Zealand 1 gold 1 silver 1 bronze
7= USA 1 gold 1 silver 0 bronze
7= Cuba 1 gold 1 silver 0 bronze
9 Lithuania 1 gold 0 silver 3 bronze
10= China 1 gold 0 silver 0 bronze
10= Italy 1 gold 0 silver 0 bronze
12 Canada 0 gold 2 silver 0 bronze
13 Netherlands 0 gold 1 silver 4 bronze
14 Malaysia 0 gold 1 silver 1 bronze
15 Argentina 0 gold 1 silver 0 bronze
16= Austria 0 gold 0 silver 1 bronze
16= Belgium 0 gold 0 silver 1 bronze
16= Czech Republic 0 gold 0 silver 1 bronze


Wednesday’s live coverage. Starts at 1pm>>>
Day one summary: Two silvers and two bronze for Team GB

Women’s individual pursuit
1 Alison Shanks (New Zealand)
2 Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain)
3 Vilija Sereikaite (Lithuania)
4 Joanna Rowsell (Great Britain)

Women’s 500m time trial
1 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
2 Anna Meares (Australia)
3 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
14 Anna Blyth (Great Britain)

Men’s team sprint
1 France (Bauge, Bourgain, Sireau)
2 Great Britain (Crampton, Kenny, Staff)
3 Germany (Enders, Forstemann, Nimke)

Men’s points race
1 Cameron Meyer (Australia)
2 Daniel Kreutzfeldt (Denmark)
3 Chris Newton (Great Britain)


Thursday’s live coverage>>>
Day two summary: Golden girls deliver

Men’s individual pursuit
1 Taylor Phinney (USA)
2 Jack Bobridge (Australia)
3 Dominique Cornu (Belgium)

Men’s Keirin
1 Maximilian Levy (Germany)
2 Francois Pervis (France)
3 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)
4 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
5 Matt Crampton (Great Britain)

Women’s team pursuit
1 Great Britain (Armitstead, Houvenaghel, Rowsell)
2 New Zealand (Ellis, Nielsen, Shanks)
3 Australia (Ankudinoff, Kent, Tomic)

Women’s team sprint
1 Australia (McCulloch, Meares)
2 Great Britain (Pendleton, Reade)
3 Lithuania (Gaivenyte, Krupeckaite)

Men’s scratch race
1 Morgan Kniesky (France)
2 Angel Dario Colla (Argentina)
3 Andreas Mueller (Austria)
7 Mark Cavendish (Great Britain)


Friday’s live coverage>>>
Day three summary: Armitstead again

Men’s team pursuit
1 Denmark (Christensen, Jorgensen, Madsen, Rasmussen)
2 Australia (Bobridge, Dennis, Howard, Meyer)
3 New Zealand (Gough, Latham, Ryan, Sergent)
4 Great Britain (Bellis, Burke, Clancy, Kennaugh)

Men’s kilometre
1 Stefan Nimke (Ger)
2 Taylor Phinney (USA)
3 Mohd Rizal Tisin (Mas)
7 David Daniell (GB)

Women’s scratch race
1 Yumari Gonzalez Valdiveso (Cub)
2 Lizzie Armitstead (GB)
3 Belinda Goss (Aus)


Saturday’s live coverage>>>
Day four summary: Sensational Pendleton digs deep

Women’s Omnium
1 Josephine Tomic (Australia)
2 Tara Whitten (Canada)
3 Yvonne Hijgenaar (Netherlands)
10 Anna Blyth (Great Britain)

Women’s sprint
1 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
2 Willy Kanis (Netherlands)
3 Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)

Men’s Madison
1 Denmark (Michael Morkov & Alex Rasmussen)
2 Australia (Leigh Howard & Cameron Meyer)
3 Czech Republic (Martin Blaha & Jiri Hochmann)
6 Great Britain (Mark Cavendish & Peter Kennaugh)


Sunday’s live coverage>>>

Men’s Omnium
1 Leigh Howard (Australia)
2 Zachary Bell (Canada)
3 Tim Veldt (Netherlands)
13 Jonny Bellis (Great Britain)

Women’s Keirin
1 Shuang Guo (China)
2 Clara Sanchez (France)
3 Willy Kanis (Netherlands)
11 Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
16 Jessica Varnish (Great Britain)

Women’s points race
1 Giorgia Bronzini (Italy)
2 Yumari Gonzalez Valdivieso (Cuba)
3 Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain)

Men’s sprint semi-finals and finals
1 Gregory Bauge (France)
2 Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia)
3 Kevin Sireau (France)
4 Shane Perkins (Australia)
5 Jason Kenny (Great Britain)
6 Matt Crampton (Great Britain)
8 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)

Follow Cycling Weekly on Twitter>>

The CW Hub: Track World Championships index
Women’s points race: Armitstead proves she’s a future champion
Women’s keirin
Men’s omnium
Men’s Madison: Danes win as Kennaugh hits the deck
Women’s sprint: Pendleton wins fourth title
Women’s omnium
Women’s scratch race: Silver for Armitstead
Men’s kilo TT: Nimke beats Sir Chris’s kilo record to take gold
Men’s team pursuit: Britain get fourth
Women’s team pursuit: Britain clinch gold
women’s team sprint: Reade and Pendleton score silver
Men’s scratch race: Cavendish marked out of contention
Men’s individual pursuit: Phinney wins gold
Men’s team sprint: France beat Britain
Men’s Points Race: Newton gets bronze
Women’s individual pursuit: Houvenaghel beaten to silver
500m TT: World record for Krupeckaite, bronze for Pendleton

Track worlds day four summary: Sensational Pendleton digs deep
Track worlds day three summary: Armitstead again
Track worlds day two summary: Golden girls deliver
Track worlds day one summary: steady start for team GB
Why there’s no Brit in the individual pursuit
No individual pursuit for Britain at track worlds
No room for complacency in British Cycling: Iain Dyer interview
Cavendish in the frame for Scratch race world title bid
2009 Track Cycling World Championships preview
Crampton set to fill Sir Chris Hoy’s team sprint spot
2009 World Track Champs GB squad named
Hoy to miss world track champs
Track World Championships: British medal winners
CW’s Dummies’ Guide to Track Racing

Day five: Track Worlds 2009
Day three: Track Worlds 2009
Day two: Track Worlds 2009
Day one: Track Worlds 2009

Jonathan Bellis
Steven Burke
Mark Cavendish
Ed Clancy
Matt Crampton
David Daniell
Ross Edgar
Jason Kenny
Chris Newton
Jamie Staff
Lizzie Armitstead
Wendy Houvenaghel
Victoria Pendleton
Shanaze Reade
Joanna Rowsell
Jessica Varnish

International track results last season: 2007-2008
International track results this season: 2008-2009

Full results from the 2008 track worlds
Report: Sunday, day five>>
Report: Saturday, day four>>
Report: Friday, day three>>
Report: Thursday, day two>>
Report: Wednesday, day one>>

Track Cycling World Championships 2009 official website
Union Cycliste Internationale