Two more golds for Britain at European track champs

British junior and under-23 riders will return from Belarus tomorrow with their heads held high tomorrow after an excellent, well rounded performance at the European Track Championships.

Although today’s final session ended with Russia and France heading the medal tables, the British team attained two more golds to take the week’s tally to six.

The first of these was won in the under-23 women’s scratch race by Anna Blyth. In her first international meeting as an endurance rider, Blyth proved her conversion from track sprinting has been a worthwhile change of direction.

“We took her onto endurance after the world championships in Poland and tried to turn her into an endurance rider in a matter of months,” explained coach Dan Hunt. “She rode really well today, controlled the race very nicely and just had more gas than everyone else at the end. There was clear daylight between her and the next contestant.”

Britain’s other gold medal today came in the junior men’s Madison when Jon Mould and Chris Whorral lapped everyone else in the field. Their performance was backed up by Sam Harrison and Dan McLay who took the bronze medal, just behind the Italian team.

“Our teams really dominated,” said Hunt. “They had a lot of good direction from Darren Tudor and Simon Cope on the side of the track and I think that played a pivotal role in the success.”
British medals didn’t stop here. With Luke Rowe having taken silver in the Under 23 men’s scratch event late last night, Mark Christian was inspired to a bronze in the same category’s points race. Also from the under-23 men’s team, Jason Kenny collected his third silver medal of the championships after World Champion Max Levy beat him in the Keirin.

“All over it’s been a great performance,” summarised Hunt of the last five day’s racing. “Team morale has been absolutely phenomenal.”

British medals

Gold – junior women’s sprint: Becky James

Gold – junior women’s 500m TT: Becky James
Gold – junior women’s team pursuit: Jessica Booth, Laura Trott, Ella Sadler-Andrews

Gold – U23 men’s individual pursuit: Steven Burke

Gold – U23 women’s scratch race: Anna Blyth
Gold – junior men’s madison: Jon Mould, Chris Whorral
Silver – U23 men’s team pursuit: Mark Christian, Andy Fenn, Luke Rowe and Erick Rowsell

Silver – junior men’s team pursuit: George Atkins, Sam Harrison, Chris Whorral and Tim Kennaugh

Silver – U23 men’s team sprint: Jason Kenny, David Daniell, Peter Mitchell
Silver – U23 men’s individual sprint: Jason Kenny
Silver – U23 men’s keirin: Jason Kenny
Silver – junior women’s keirin: Becky James
Silver – U23 men’s scratch race: Luke Rowe
Bronze – junior women’s individual pursuit: Laura Trott

Bronze – junior men’s individual pursuit: George Atkins
Bronze – junior men’s points race: Tim Kennaugh
Bronze – junior men’s scratch race: Chris Whorral
Bronze – junior women’s points race: Laura Trott
Bronze – U23 men’s points race: Mark Christian
Bronze – junior men’s madison: Sam Harrison and Dan McLay.