Boels-Dolmans's Amy Pieters bags breakaway victory at Emakumeen Bira

Dutchwoman takes breakaway success in penultimate stage

Amy Pieters (Boels - Dolmans) wins stage three of Emakumeen Bira in Aretxabaleta (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Michael Steele)

Boels-Dolmans took their first victory of the Emakumeen Bira, Amy Pieters winning from an 11-woman breakaway in Aretxabaleta today. The Dutch rider out sprinted Emilia Fahlin (Wiggle-High5)  and German rider Clara Koppenburg (Cervélo-Bigla) after a wet stage in the Basque mountains.

The result caused a shake up in the general classification going into tomorrow’s final, queen stage, with New Zealand champion Georgia Williams (Mitchelton-Scott), at one stage the virtual leader on the road, moving into second place behind team mate Annemiek van Vleuten.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1