Matt Bottrill continues record-breaking form

Matt Bottrill, 2nd, National 25-mile time trial championships 2013

Extending his excellent run of results, Matt Bottrill claimed another course record in his build-up to next weekend's national circuit time trial championships.

The rider removed 70 seconds from Dominic Sweeney's six-year-old mark as he clocked 20-21 for a clear victory in Kettering CC's Frank & Joy Sheppard Memorial 10-mile time trial at Broughton, Northamptonshire.

Second place was shared by Bottrill's team-mate Jon Simpkins and Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT), who both recorded 21-16 on wet roads over the single carriageway course.

National champion at the distance, Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) recorded the fastest ‘10' of the weekend with 18-14 for victory in the Team Swift Charity event on the renowned South Cave-Welton course in East Yorkshire.

James Gullen (Team Hope Factory Racing) was 16 seconds down on Hutchinson in windy conditions to take second place.

Multi-national champion Julia Shaw ( also enjoyed a winning warm-up for the circuit championships with victory in round six of the RTTC Time Trial Series.

Shaw covered a 15.7-mile course based on Southend-Bradfield, near Reading, in 40-19 to win the women's event by 33 seconds from Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) with third place going to Bronwen Ewing (Trainsharp RT) in 41.30.

Victory in the two-lap senior men's event went to Danny Axford (Artic-SRAM RT) in 1-12-50, beating James Gilfillan (Velorefined Aerosmniths), who covered the second circuit six seconds quicker, by 15 seconds.

Andrew Perkins (Mid Devon CC) was a 20-second winner of the One And All 25-mile time trial in Cornwall, clocking 52-20 to win from Alessandro Gourley (Penzance Wheelers) over a new version of the Victoria-based S100/25 course.

A 20-second late start failed to deny Keith Murray (Strategic Lions Cycling) the win in North Shropshire Wheelers' ‘25' at Prees, his 53-52 putting him 19 seconds clear of Dave Crawley (Fibrax Wrexham RC).

Jason Bouttell (Team Velovelocity) missed a 30mph ride by a single second, clocking 20-01 to win Anglia Velo's 10-mile event, while James Perkins (Team Zenith Buzz Cycles) took the honours with 20-13 in Leicester Forest CC's ‘10'.

Joel Wainman led a Team Swift one-two in the Yorkshire CF ‘30' at Knaresborough, recording 1-03-46 to win by 39 seconds from team-mate Alastair Wareham.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.