Matt Bottrill wins RTTC time trial series opener

Matt Bottrill, second, National 10-mile time trial championships 2012

Two times the winner of the National Time Trial Series, Matt Bottrill ( drew first blood in the 2013 series when he cruised to a convincing win in Leicestershire on Sunday.

Bottrill clocked 1-01-51 for the 29-mile course based around Willoughby-on-the-Wolds - not too far from his home - and was almost five minutes quicker than his nearest rival in what should've been round two of the series, but is the first race to go ahead after round one was cancelled because of heavy snow last month.

His time was a near course record, and Bottrill said afterwards: "I'm well pleased with this ride, the form is good and I really enjoyed every moment.

"These were local roads for me, so there was a lot of support out there. It's very nice to add another win for the year and a new course record, you have to make the most of these rides as you never know when your form will go, but I'm loving every minute of training and racing at the minute!"

Scott Walker (MG Décor) took second spot with 1-06-37, while fastest woman was Rebecca Slack (Look Mum No Hands) with 36-07 for the women's 15-mile course.

Elsewhere, the reigning RTTC Time Trial Series champion Jeff Jones proved a convincing winner of the Yeovil CC 10 at Podimore, Somerset, on Sunday.

He won the event with a time of 19-58, 25 seconds ahead of his nearest rival Andrew Perkins (Mid Devon CC), while Sean Childs (RNRMCA) took third with 20-34.

Team Swift secured a clean sweep of the podium in the Otley CC 25 at Boroughbridge in North Yorkshire on Sunday, with Joel Wainman taking the win with 54-25 for the course to Walshford and back twice.

They won the team prize with Andy Jackson second and Mark Wolstenholme third, while other members of Team Swift, Blair Buss and Derek Roe, were the winners in the over-40 and over-60 categories respectively.

Ian Stott (Blackburn and District CTC) was fastest in the Lakeland Land Rover Coniston Grand Prix, staged by Barrow Central Wheelers at Torver, Cumbria, on Saturday.

He was 26 seconds ahead of Team Leapfrog veteran Craig Battersby, while Scott Smith ensured the organising club had someone on the podium with 52-31 for third.

Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) won the West Cheshire TTCA 30 at Prees in Shropshire, clocking 1-04-55 to take a comfortable win despite cold conditions.

RAF CC rider Justyn Cannon won the AW Cycles 10 on the Witney bypass on Saturday with 20-24, eight seconds faster than Tejvan Pettinger (Sri Chinmoy CT), while Ken Buckley (AW Cycles) was three seconds slower in third.

Read Cycling Weekly magazine on the day of release wherever you are in the world with our iPad and iPhone edition - International digital edition, UK digital edition. And if you like us, rate us!

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1