Russell Downing heads up impressive Monsal Hill-Climb start list

Charles Taylor Monsal Hill Climb 2009

Russell Downing (Endura) and reigning British national hill-climb champion Gunnar Gronlund (RST-Trigon) head up an impressive start list for Sunday's 82nd edition of the Simplyhealth Monsal Hill-Climb in Derbyshire.

Downing and defending 2012 Monsal winner Gronlund join Adam Duggleby (Sportscover-Altura), Andrew Magnier (Node4-Giordana), Matt Holmes (Raleigh-GAC), Matt Clinton (Mike Vaughan Cycles), Jack Pullar (Wheelbase), Liam Holohan (Raleigh-GAC), Dean Downing (Rapha Condor) and Graham Briggs (Raleigh-GAC) in the sell-out event promoted by Sheffrec CC.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.