Tour of California 2013 route confirmed

Route details for the 2013 Tour of California have been released, and for the first time in the race’s history the riders will take a route from the south to the north
of the state.

The race starts in Escondido on Sunday, May 12 and finishes eight stages later in Santa Rosa on Sunday, May 19.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The 2012 edition of the Tour of California was won by Dutchman Robert Gesink (Rabobank), but will perhaps be remembered more for Peter Sagan’s complete domination of the flatter stages. The Liquigas-Cannondale fastman took five victories in the race prior to winning the Tour de France green jersey in July.

Floyd Landis was the first winner of the race in 2006. Since then Levi Leipheimer has won on three occasions (2007, 2008, 2009) with Michael Rogers (2010), Chris Horner (2011) and Gesink (2012) all taking one win apiece. David Millar was runner-up to Leipheimer in 2008.

Manxman Mark Cavendish won the sprint classification in 2009 whilst riding for Columbia-Highroad. The title has been held by Sagan for the past three editions.

The Tour of California is categorised by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) as a 2.HC event, one step below the top-tier WorldTour.

Tour of California 2013: Stages
Stage 1, Sunday May 12, Escondido to Escondido
Stage 2, Monday May 13, Murrieta to Greater Palm Springs
Stage 3, Tuesday May 14, Palmdale to Santa Clarita
Stage 4, Wednesday May 15, Santa Clarita to Santa Barbara
Stage 5, Thursday May 16, Santa Barbara to Avila Beach
Stage 6, Friday May 17, San Jose to San Jose ITT
Stage 7, Saturday May 18, Livermore to Mount Diablo
Stage 8, Sunday May 19, San Francisco to Santa Rosa 

Related links

2012: Sagan wins Tour of California finale as Gesink takes overall title