Ian Bibby wins, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Tour of the Reservoir 2011 photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

Ian Bibby took over the lead in the Premier Calendar Series with victory in the Tour of the Reservoir in Northumberland on Sunday.

Preston-based Bibby's victory came after a strong display from his team-mates at Motorpoint Pro Cycling, who bossed the decisive break of nine riders and placed four riders in the top six.

While Bibby won and colleague Marcin Bialoblocki took second, Rapha Condor-Sharp's Dean Downing managed to stop a clean-sweep of the podium when he edged into third place in the final few yards.

But earlier in the race Motorpoint had looked well out on contention.

Sigma Sport's Tom Murray and Cycle Premier-Metaltek's Stephen Gallagher had launched an early bid for freedom on the fourth lap, and gained a two-minute lead over the chasing pack. But they were hunted down by Bibby and his team-mate Jonny McEvoy, who attacked hard in pursuit and left the bunch strung out with several strong men struggling to keep pace.

It didn't take long for the race to come back together, but with a lap and a half remaining nine riders went clear - and this time Motorpoint did not miss out and placed several riders in the break.

Bibby teamed up with Endura Racing's Evan Oliphant and attacked off the front, but his Scottish rival couldn't maintain his pace and dropped back while Bibby soon joined the leaders.

Murray's day was to take a turn for the worse shortly after when, having been in both the day's main breaks, the Sigma rider suffered mechanical problems and could only rejoin the race behind the bunch.

Meanwhile, up front Bibby jumped with three kilometres left, wary of the presence of Endura Racing's in-form sprinter Paul Voss. He held his advantage well, and took the win ahead of team-mate Bialoblocki while Dean Downing was third.


Tour of the Reservoir (Premier Calendar Round Four, Hexham, Northumberland, 144km)

1. Ian Bibby (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) 3-35-44

2. Marcin Bialoblocki (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) same time

3. Dean Downing (Rapha Condor-Sharp) at 1sec

4. Peter Williams (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) at 3sec

5. Jack Bauer (Endura Racing)

6. Will Bjergfelt (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) all st

7. Paul Voss (Endura Racing) at 5sec

8. Tom Last (Sigma Sport) st

9. Matt Cronshaw (Team Raleigh) at 10sec

10. Rafa Rodriguez Segarra (Twenty 3C-Orbea) at 30sec

Finish-line crowd, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Crowds at the finish line

Scenery, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Tour of the Reservoir scenery

Tom Murray and Stephen Gallagher, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Tom Murray and Stephen Gallagher in an escape

Dean Downing makes a move, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Dean Downing makes a move

Break, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Escape group

Ian Bibby wins, Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Ian Bibby celebrates his win

Ian Bibby (winner), Marcin Bialoblocki (second, right) and Dean Downing (third, left), Tour of the Reservoir 2011

Podium (l-r): Dean Downing (third), Ian Bibby (winner), Marcio Bialoblocki (second)

Related links

Tour of the Reservoir 2011 photo gallery by Andy Jones

British race calendar 2011

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1