British Cycling confirms GB cycling squads for 2013/2014

GB, team pursuit, Track World Championships 2013, day 2 morningGB, team pursuit, Track World Championships 2013, day 2 morning

Sir Dave Brailsford has declared that the Great Britain cycling team is "in good shape for this stage of the Olympic cycle" following the release of the national squad for the forthcoming year.

Five new British world champions - Becky James, Liam Phillips, Lora Turnham (piloted by Corinne Hall), Elinor Barker and Simon Yates - were crowned in 2013, and Brailsford says that progress is being made on the road to Rio 2016.

"In line with the UK Sport funding structure, we have reviewed the British Cycling's Olympic Programmes, and I believe we have a strong squad to take us into the second year of this Olympic cycle," he said.

"In all, I think we're looking to be in good shape for this stage of the Olympic cycle. We have a real depth of talent in the Academy and Development Programme and I'm looking forward to seeing how they can develop and deliver over the coming twelve months."

New features of the squad include a Paralympic Development Programme, which BC say will help produce the next generation of para-cycling champions.

Elsewhere, former hepthathlete turned sprinter Katy Marchant joins the British Cycling Olympic Podium Programme while Ross Edgar has switched from the sprint to endurance programme.

Double junior world champion Danni Khan steps up to the Podium Programme sprint squad from the Academy, and Germain Burton, Chris Lawless, Jake Ragan and Ollie Wood make the transition from BC's Olympic Development Programme to the Academy. Former GB women's coach Simon Cope returns to oversee the track side of this programme, and Keith Lambert will continue to lead the coaching on the road.


Men's Sprint:

Matt Crampton

Kian Emadi

Phil Hindes

Jason Kenny

Lewis Oliva

Callum Skinner

Women's Sprint:

Becky James

Katy Marchant

Jess Varnish

Vicky Williamson

Men's Endurance:

Steven Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Steve Cummings

Jon Dibben

Alex Dowsett

Ross Edgar

Josh Edmondson

Andy Fenn

Chris Froome

Sam Harrison

Pete Kennaugh

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Andy Tennant

Geraint Thomas

Sir Bradley Wiggins

Adam Yates

Simon Yates

Women's Endurance:

Lizzie Armitstead

Elinor Barker

Dani King

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Men's BMX:

Liam Phillips

Women's Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Annie Last


Men's Sprint:

Matt Rotherham

Women's Sprint:

Rosie Blount

Danni Khan

Women's Endurance:

Katie Archibald

Lucy Garner

Amy Hill

Hayley Jones

Emily Kay

Amy Roberts

Men's Endurance:

Germain Burton

Owain Doull

Chris Latham

Chris Lawless

Jacob Ragan

Oliver Wood

Men's BMX:

Kyle Evans

Grant Hill

Curtis Manaton

Tre Whyte

Women's BMX:

Charlotte Green

Abbie Taylor

Men's Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Kenta Gallagher

Grant Ferguson

Women's Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Alice Barnes

Bethany Crumpton


Men's Endurance:

Matthew Bostock

Gabriel Cullaigh

Joe Evans

Joseph Fry

Matthew Gibson

Joe Holt

Ellis Kirkbride

Women's Endurance:

Megan Barker

Abigail Dentus

Grace Garner

Bethany Hayward

Melissa Lowther

Emily Nelson

Abby-Mae Parkinson

Lucy Shaw

Men's Sprint:

Leon Gledhill

Thomas Scammell

Joseph Truman

Women's Sprint:

Sophie Capewell

Men's BMX:

Quillan Isidore

Paddy Sharrock

Ryan Stack

Women's BMX:

Valerie Zebrokova

Men's Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Frazer Clacherty

Thomas Craig

Dylan Kerfoot Robson

Mark McGuire

Calum Moagowan

Women's Cross Country Mountain Bike:

Martha Gill

Ffion James


Paralympic Podium Programme

Jon Allan Butterworth

Jody Cundy

Karen Darke

Neil Fachie

Corinne Hall

Rachel James

Darren Kenny

Crystal Lane

Craig MacLean

Shaun McKeown

Pete Mitchell

Rachel Morris

Jason Queally

Helen Scott

David Stone

Dame Sarah Storey

Lauryn Therin

Lora Turnham

Paralympic Academy Programme

Brian Alldis

Rhiannon Henry

Simon Price

Sophie Thornhill

Paralympic Development Programme

Steve Arnold

Megan Boyd

Justin Davies

Matt Ellis

Andy Kelsey

Jaco van Gass

Jonathan Wren


Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.