British Cycling reveals new Academy intake

British Cycling has announced its selection of riders for the 2010-11 Olympic Academy programme.

In the men’s endurance squad, Sam Harrison, Tom Moses and junior world madison champion Simon Yates are the first-year intake for next season.

“I’m very happy; I was dreading not getting on, it would have been really hard,” Moses told Cycling Weekly.

Chris Newton will be coaching the squad, though questions marks still hang over whether they will stay in Quarrata or re-locate.

Meanwhile, reigning junior road race champion Dan McLay has eschewed the Academy system, opting to “try the Adam Blythe way” in Belgium. He will race for the Davo-Lotto-Davitamon team, feeder squad to the ProTour outfit.

Erick Rowsell, Tim Kennaugh and Chris Whorrall have all left the Academy.

The women’s endurance Academy has also downsized and switched its focus to the track.

Performance Manager Shane Sutton said: “Our under-23 squad continues to strengthen and this year Alex Dowsett and Lucy Martin have both been signed up to professional road teams for next season.”

“We’ve also got an interesting situation for the Women’s Endurance programme with all the girls now being focused on the Endurance track events rather than the road.”

The Academy programme officially starts on November 1.

Men’s Endurance (road and track)
George Atkins
Mark Christian
Andy Fenn
Sam Harrison
Tom Moses
Jon Mould
Luke Rowe
Simon Yates

Women’s Endurance (track)
Katie Colclough
Hannah Mayho
Laura Trott

Mountain Bike
David Fletcher
Kenta Gallagher
Steve James
Annie Last
Lily Matthews

David Daniell
Kian Emadi
Philip Hines
Becky James
Pete Mitchell
Lewis Oliva
Callum Skinner
Jess Varnish


Liam Phillips

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly: The perfect Christmas gift>>