Chris Froome nominated for BBC Sports Personality award

Chris Froome maintains lead, Tour de France 2013, stage 13

Chris Froome is one of 10 sportspeople nominated for the 2013 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

The Tour de France winner joins sailor Ben Ainslie, cricketer Ian Bell, wheelchair sprinter Hannah Cockcroft, runner Mo Farah, rugby player Leigh Halfpenny, jockey AP McCoy, tennis player Andy Murray, runner Christine Ohuruogu and golfer Jutin Rose.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.