Cycling Weekly news logo

Team UK Youth dominated the opening event of the 2012 road campaign in Hampshire, the Perfs Pedal race, placing four riders in the top nine led by winner Chris Opie.

Due to become a dad on Wednesday, Opie had an early cause to celebrate as he powered clear on the finishing climb at Southwick to cross the line clear of Marcin Bialoblocki (Node4-Giordana) and Jonny McEvoy (Endura Racing) after 35 miles of racing controlled throughout by his Team UK Youth squad.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.