Hutchinson and Lloyd-Jones take National 50 time trial titles

Michael Hutchinson, first, National 10-mile time trial championships 2012

Prolific time trial champion Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit RT) added two more titles to his palmares this week, winning the Irish National 25-mile Championship on Thursday before going on to win the National 50-Mile Championship in Cornwall on Sunday.

The 38-year-old London-based rider took victory in the 50-mile title race by around a minute and a half, covering the course at Roche in 1-40-35 to secure his 13th consecutive National 50 title.

Second spot went to Matt Bottrill, the rider from Leicestershire who added another podium finish to his season following third spot in the National 25 two weeks ago. Bottrill's team-mate Jeff Jones took third in Sunday's 50, a further 2-21 behind.

On Thursday Hutchinson had clinched the Irish title when he covered the distance in 43-49 to beat Martyn Irvine by 35 seconds, while Nicolas Roche was third.

In the women's National 50 Championship on Saturday there was a surprise winner, with London Dynamo's Jenny Lloyd-Jones winning by 59 seconds. The 41-year-old from Teddington clocked 2-01-43 to take the win.

There was disappointment for Julia Shaw ( who was aiming to win her eighth 50 title. Heavy rain and spray caused ten riders not to start because of safety concerns, while Shaw was one of five who climbed off mid-race for the same reason.

Elsewhere, another rider with, Derek Parkinson took victory in the Otley CC 50 at Dishforth in North Yorkshire.

His time of 1-46-05 gave him the win by over four minutes, while Team Swift's Mark Wolstenholme took second with 1-50-08 and Nigel Haigh (Sportscover) was three seconds slower in third.

There were slightly better conditions for the Bristol South CC 50 at Axbridge on Sunday. Somerset RC's Mark Ashurst took the win, clocking 1-58-05 to beat Cavalier CC rival David Kiddell by 51 seconds.

National hill-climb champion Gunnar Gronlund (RST Racing Team) broke the course record on his way to victory in the Circuit of Longstone Edge in Derbyshire.

His time of 40-33 was good enough to take victory by more than a minute, while South Pennine RC duo James Tucker and Charles Taylor took second and third respectively.

Further north, Robin Brennan (Preston CC) took the win in Yorkshire Road Club's 25 at Topcliffe in North Yorkshire.

He clocked 55-42 to win by 21 seconds from Pedalsport CC's Blair Buss, while Ian Fairweather ensured the promoting club was represented on the podium with third spot, another 23 seconds off the pace.

Related links

Cycling Weekly's time trial news section

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.