Boasson Hagen doubles up at ENECO Tour

Edvald Boasson Hagen Eneco Tour 2009 stage 7

Edvald Boasson Hagen has won the ENECO Tour of the Benelux, extending his victory margin by also claiming the race-concluding 13-kilometre time-trial.

The Norwegian had furthered his lead before a pedal was even turned this morning, as second-placed overall Tyler Farrar surprisingly opted to withdraw from the race, citing preparation for the Vuelta as a reason.

Hagen assumed the race lead by finishing second in a group of twelve in Sunday’s stage from Roermond to Sittard, which used several climbs seen in the Amstel Gold Race. His bunch sprint stage victory yesterday further extended the advantage.

However, this effort on a twisty course around Amersfoort was the coup de grâce. Even a late rain shower could not slow down the Gent-Wevelgem winner - rumoured to be heading to the new Team Sky - as he roared across the line to overhaul Sebastian Langeveld’s standard by four seconds.

After a strong ride, prologue winner Sylvain Chavanel took second overall, 45 seconds in arrears, with Langeveld on the other step of the podium.

Early starter Bradley Wiggins started well, setting the long-time leading time at the 5km checkpoint. However, the Garmin man did not complete the course, the reasons for which are currently unknown.


ENECO Tour of the Benelux, stage seven: Amersfoort-Amersfoort ITT, 13.1km

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia-HTC 16-07

2. Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank at 4secs

3. Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank at 5secs

4. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step at 14secs

5. Jurgen Vandenbroeck (Bel) Silence-Lotto at 16secs

6. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Team Columbia-HTC at 19secs

7. Andrey Amador (Crc) Caisse d'Epargne at 20secs

8. Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa) Rabobank at 23secs

9. Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator at 25secs

10. Laszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Katusha at 27secs

Final overall standings

1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Columbia-HTC 26-49-40

2. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step at 45secs

3. Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank at 47secs

4. Jurgen Vandenbroeck (Bel) Silence-Lotto at 58secs

5. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Team Columbia-HTC

6. Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa) Rabobank

7. Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team Saxo Bank all st

8. Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank at 1-07

9. Jan Bakelants (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator at 1-12

10. Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-N.G.C at 1-22

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1