British Cycling announces team for Track World Championships

Nineteen-strong squad heads to Paris for the UCI Track World Championships between February 18-22

Great Britain with gold medals, women's team pursuit podium
(Image credit: Casey B Gibson)

Double world champion Joanna Rowsell headlines the British squad for the UCI Track World Championships in Paris later this month, as the women’s team pursuiters look to win the title for the fifth year in a row.

Rowsell is joined by fellow Olympic champion Laura Trott in the endurance squad, with Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker and Ciara Horne also fighting it out for places.

In the men’s pursuit squad, Steven Burke has recovered sufficiently from the broken collarbone he sustained in January to take his place alongside the likes of Ed Clancy and Owain Doull for the championships between February 18-22.

Jason Kenny, who said this week that British track cyclists need to get back to winning ways ahead of Rio 2016, leads the men’s sprint team, while Jess Varnish, Victoria Williamson and Katy Marchant make up the women’s team.

Technical director Shane Sutton OBE said: “We’ve placed a big focus on this event as our aim is to qualify Olympic points as quickly as possible and I’m keen to see some strong results across the board.

“I’m pleased Steve Burke has made the team which is a credit to him and the hard work of the support staff plus it’s good to see Academy rider Matt Gibson step up and make selection.

“We saw some promising performance during the world cup season and I’m looking for the team to drive this momentum into the world championships.”

Great Britain Cycling Team:
Men’s Sprint

Kian Emadi

Philip Hindes

Jason Kenny

Callum Skinner

Women’s Sprint

Katy Marchant

Jess Varnish

Victoria Williamson

Men’s Endurance

Steven Burke

Mark Christian

Ed Clancy

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Matt Gibson

Andy Tennant

Women’s Endurance

Katie Archibald

Elinor Barker

Ciara Horne

Joanna Rowsell

Laura Trott

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.