British Cycling names squad for Paris-Roubaix Juniors

Six riders named in the Great Britain Cycling Team squad for Paris-Roubaix Juniors on April 12, including two who competed in last year's race

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Six riders from the British Cycling Olympic Development Programme have been named in the Great Britain squad for Paris-Roubaix juniors, which takes place on April 12 - the same day as the pro race.

Matt Bostock and Joe Holt return to the race after competing in 2014, while Nathan Draper, Joe Fry, Ethan Hayter and Joey Walker make their debuts in the 111km race.

The route features 16 cobbled sections from the Hell of the North, including Mons en Pevele and Carrefour de l'Arbre, both of which rank as five stars for difficulty.

Brits have a strong history in the race, with Team Sky duo Geraint Thomas and Andy Fenn winning the race in 2004 and 2008 respectively.

Olympic Development Programme coach Brian Stephens said: “It's kind of as much about the trip as it is about the race.

“The juniors, we are trying to educate them about living and racing overseas and different environments.”

He added: “I haven't seen them race on the road yet, it's good for me to see how some of the track form transfers over to the road.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for 2015 Paris-Roubaix Juniors

Matt Bostock

Nathan Draper

Joe Fry

Ethan Hayter

Joe Holt

Joey Walker


Seb Dickins

Matt Walls

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1