Compact GB squad for Beijing track World Cup

track news logo

British Cycling has announced the five rider line-up that will represent Great Britain at the track cycling World Cup round in Beijing, China, over January 22-24, 2010.

All five riders are young, male endurance athletes picked from BC's Olympic Academy Programme: George Atkins, Mark Christian, Jon Mould, Luke Rowe and Erick Rowsell.

Atkins and Mould will be making their World Cup debut in China.

The round takes place in the Beijing velodrome constructed for the 2008 Olympic Games, so the venue has particular resonance for British riders - Team GB's track cyclists brought home 12 medals from the Beijing Games.

The Beijing round of the series is the final event in the 2009/2010 UCI World Cup. The 2010 Track Cycling World Championships take place in Copenhagen, Denmark, on March 24-28.

Related links

CW's Dummies' Guide to Track Racing

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.