Andrew Fenn

BUILDING on his victory in the junior Paris-Roubaix last month, Kent teenager Andrew Fenn (Dolan Cycles RT) won the Isle of Man Youth Tour?s junior category after a strong performance in the three-day event last weekend.

Almost all of the country?s top youngsters were at the popular event, and in the junior event it was possibly a who?s who of up and coming riders with the usual crop of talent from the Isle of Man itself mixed with the best from the mainland.

After placing 15th in the opening prologue time trial, where he was five seconds behind winner Eric Rowsell (Team Corridori), Fenn won the opening road stage by 35 seconds from Rowsell, and then was fourth in stage three, but was just nine seconds behind winner Luke Rowe (Rapha Condor-Recycling) to ensure the overall win.

The time trial was a close-run affair with Rowsell?s winning time of 1-44.71 less than two seconds ahead of Mark Christian (Isle of Man) with Luke Rowe third, just 0.11 seconds further back.

Stage two saw Fenn break away confidently from his rivals to cross the line 35 seconds clear and secure a vital 10-second time bonus, while Rowsell held off Rowe for second spot.

And in the final stage Fenn successfully defended his lead, with Rowsell 30 seconds behind in second and Rowe 39 seconds off the pace.

In the Under-14s (Cat A) group Sam Harrison (Wales) won from the North West?s Simon Yates, while of the girls in Cat A and B Hannah Barnes (East Midlands) won from Wales? Ruby Miller. Jon Dibben (South East) was best of the under-14 boys.

In the under-12s group Charlie Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers) was best boy, while fourth overall ensured that talented Maindy Flyers rider Megan Barker was top girl.

Isle of Man Youth Tour (Douglas, Isle of Man).- Final overall.-
1 Andrew Fenn (Dolan Cycles RT)

2 Luke Rowe (Rapha Condor-Recycling) at 30sec

3 Eric Rowsell (Team Corridori) at 31sec

4 Alex King (GWR Team) at 55sec

5 Tim Kennaugh (Isle of Man) at 1-12

6 Peter Dibben (GWR Team) at 2-30

Team.- GWR Team (Alex King, Peter Dibben, Sam Reading).

Boys A.-
1 Sam Harrison (Wales) 2-00-51

2 Simon Yates (North West) at 9sec

3 Ben Dunn (East Midlands) at 23sec

Team.- Yorkshire (Josh Edmundson, Paul Young, Tom Moses).

Girls A/B.-
1 Hannah Barnes (East Midlands) 1-33-51

2 Ruby Miller (Wales) at 29sec

3 Lucy Garner (Leicestershire RC) at 1-53

Boys B.-
1 Jon Dibben (South East) 1-28-21

2 Jacob Ragan (Eastlands Velo) at 1-05

3 Harry Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers) at 3-33

Boys B Team.- Yorkshire (Nick Barnes, Luke Simpson, Joe Moses).

Boys C.-
1 Charlie Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers) 57-51

2 Billy Harding (East Bradford CC) at 2-50

3 Daniel Fox (Solihull CC) at 1-57

Team.- Team Scottish Provident (Matthew Bostock, Matthews Davies, Jamie Dudley).

Girls C.- Megan Barker (Maindy Flyers CC) 1-00-32.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1