Garmin Bradley Wiggins Tour of Qatar st 1 2009


UCI ProTour team

After impressing the sport?s governing body the UCI in 2008 with its staunchly anti-doping ethos, the Garmin team will make the leap to ProTour status, although with the reduction in the number of events in the ProTour, it is unclear how much difference this will make to the team.

The team is largely unchanged for the 2009 season, with the signing of Olympic pursuit champion Bradley Wiggins being the notable exception.

After a top-five ride in last year?s Tour de France, Christian Vande Velde is a genuine Tour contender and has the riders to support him in his bid to become the first American to win the event since Lance Armstrong in 2005.


Blake Caldwell (USA)

Steven Cozza (USA)

Tom Danielson (USA)

Julian Dean (Nzl)

Hans Dekkers (Ned)

Jason Donald (USA)

Timmy Duggan (USA)

Huub Duyn (Ned)

Lucas Euser (USA)

Tyler Farrar (USA)

Michael Friedman (USA)

Will Frischkorn (USA)

Ryder Hesjedal (Can)

Trent Lowe (Aus)

Martijn Maaskant (Ned)

Daniel Martin (Ire)

Christian Meier (Can)

Cameron Meyer (Aus)

David Millar (GBR)

Danny Pate (USA)

Kilian Patour (Fra)

Tom Peterson (USA)

Chris Sutton (Aus)

Svein Tuft (Can)

Ricardo van der Velde (Ned)

Christian Vande Velde (USA)

Bradley Wiggins (GBR)

David Zabriskie (USA)


Jonathan Vaughters






Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1