Great Britain names all-star team for Revolution Series opener in Derby

Sir Bradley Wiggins, Mark Cavendish and Laura Trott headline a strong British team at the first round of the Revolution Series this weekend

Seven Olympic gold medallists have been named in the Great Britian Cycling Team squad for the first round of the Revolution Series in Derby this weekend (August 14-16).

The most decorated of the riders on show is Sir Bradley Wiggins, who returns to the track in search of Olympic qualification points in an attempt to make the team pursuit squad for Rio 2016. Mark Cavendish also returns to the pine in the omnium event - also trying to make the Team GB squad for Rio.

See more

Ed Clancy, who won gold with Wiggins in 2008, is also named in the squad, with Steven Burke another gold medal winner in the lineup.

Jason Kenny and Philip Hindes add another four golds between them, while Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell further boost the Olympic gold tally.

Sprinter Becky James is set to make her comeback from long-term injury in Derby this weekend, having missed the entire 2014/15 season as well as the 2014 Commonwealth Games because of a knee problem.

Shanaze Reade is also named in the squad, having returned to the track cycling scene after a spell of racing BMX in America. Reade recently joined Madison-Genesis for the 2015/16 track cycling season as she aims to make the British squad for the Olympics next August.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.