Thor Hushovd Het Nieuwsblad 2009

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Norwegian sprinter Thor Hushovd has taken victory in the Het Nieuwsblad classic.

In an action-packed finale, Hushovd took advantage of strong team riding by his Cervelo squad to win the sprint with ease, after several rivals were impeded by a crash.

A two-up break by Hushovd's team mate Heinrich Haussler and Rabobank's Sebastian Langeveld, which went away with 35 kilometres to go, looked like it might be successful. But the pair were caught with less than a kilometre to go.

As the sprint opened, several riders hit the deck, while Hushovd forged ahead three lengths clear of Belgium's Kevyn Ista.


1. Thor Hushovd (Nor) Cervelo

2. Kevyn Ista (Bel) Agritubel

3. Juan-Antonio Flecha (Spa) Rabobank

4. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Silence-Lotto

5. Marcus Burghardt (Ger) Columbia

6. Frederic Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet

7. Andreas Klier (Ger) Cervelo

8. Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Cervelo

9. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Milram

10. Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step


61. Roger Hammond (GB) Cervelo at 45secs

62. Jeremy Hunt (GB) Cervelo at same time

142. Ian Stannard (GB) ISD at 12-32

Het Nieuwsblad 2009

The bunch on the cobbles

Het Nieuwsblad 2009

Brit Roger Hammond in action

Het Nieuwsblad 2009

Jeremy Hunt leads on the cobbles

Het Nieuwsblad 2009

Thor Hushovd scores another win for Cervelo


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

Thor Hushovd: Rider Profile

Hammond looks forward to Belgian season opener

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1