Postal strike hits Bec hill climb

Bec Hillclimb 05 Wiggins

The Bec hill climb on Sunday, October 11 has fallen victim to the postal strike in London. Organiser Garry Beckett has received no entries through his letterbox this week for the 54th edition of the notorious 700 yard White Lane course in Kent.

Entrants are asked to check the list of names below to confirm their entry has arrived. Anyone who thinks they should be on the list is asked to call Garry Beckett as soon as possible on 07802 898259. The final deadline has been extended to Friday, October 2.

The usual generous prize list has been assembled by Beckett, with £1,000 going to the winner, making the Bec event one of the richest pound-per-mile events in the country. Cervelo's Dan Lloyd scooped a cool grand for less than two minutes work last year.

The traditional double-header of hill climbs starts at 10:30am with the Catford event on Yorks Hill, with the Bec race getting underway at 2pm. Both events attract huge crowds and a fantastic atmosphere. For maps of both courses, click on the links below.

Catford hill climb, Yorks Hill

Bec hill climb, White Lane


Deborah Percival 34 Nomads C C / Gem Hygiene

Carl Ferri Addiscombe C C

Sylvain Garde Addiscombe C C

Andrew Green Addiscombe C C

Michael Ingram Addiscombe C C

Michael Wallace Addiscombe C C

Jody Crawforth Arctic-Premier RT

Matt Holmes Arctic-Premier RT

Danny Axford Arctic-Premier RT

Keith Coffey Bec C C

Nick Carreras Bec C C

Christy McKee Bec C C

Shaun Kennedy Bec C C

James Hughes Bec C C

Sholto Haggart Brighton Mitre C C

William McCracken Brighton Mitre C C

Chris Jones Bynea C c

Ralph Keeler Cambridge C C

Stuart Payne Central Sussex C C

Robert Gough Chippenham & district Wheelers

John Archdeacon De Laune c c

Nigel Wood Dulwich Paragon C C

Matthew Pilkington Dulwich Paragon C C

Simon Donne Epsom C C

Juliette Clark In Gear Quickvit RT

Jim Cheek In Gear Quickvit RT

Jake Butler In Gear Quickvit RT

Oliver Wilmot Ingear Development Squad

John Storms Kingston Wheelers

Ed Harris Lea Valley C C

Guy Powdrill London Dynamo

Torkel Dohmers London Dynamo

Alex Christians London Phoenix

Nathan Smith London Phoenix C C

Roy Instrall Morden C R C

Simon Warren Norwood Paragon C C

Anton Blackie Oxford University C C

James Shaw Pembrokeshire Velo

Rhys Payne Port & District C C

Steven Grimshaw Rapha Condor C C

Manuel Quiros Rapha Condor C C

Ivan Jordan Rapha Condor C C

Jon Canning Rapha Condor C C

Graeme Raeburn Rapha Condor C C

Nathan Chamberlain Redhill C C

Scarlet William Parker Rollapaluzza CC

Rachael Whittaker Serpentine

Andrew Sykes South Eastern R.C.

Simon Neave South Western Road Club

Alan Parkinson South Western Road Club

Andrew Canning South Western Road Club

Keith Henderson Southborough & District C C

Andy Ross Sydenham Wheelers

Robert Robins Sydenham Wheelers

Richard Cartland Team Corley Cycles / Alpha R C

Chris McNamara Team Corley Cycles / Alpha R C

Roy Chamberlain Team Corley Cycles Alpha RC

Germain Burton Team De Ver

Michael leonard Smith Team Milton Keynes

Phil Lisher Team Welwyn

Charlie Beeny V C Jubilee

Peter Elms VC Elan / Harry Perry cycles

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1