Queally named in GB Track Worlds squad

British Cycling has announced the line-up for the forthcoming UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Copenhagen, Denmark (March 24-28).

As expected, the team is a mixture of experience and new talent – but the big news is the inclusion of Jason Queally’s name in the men’s endurance line-up.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

Former Olympic kilo champion Queally recently made the switch from sprint to endurance riding as part of his preparations to become a pacer for the British Paralympic track cycling squad. During trials, Queally posted such impressive times that he was short-listed for inclusion in the team pursuit squad.

“At 40, I was never going to get an opportunity like this again,” said Queally, who hopes to make the team pursuit squad for London 2012.

“Even if I don’t make it to London, I know I have had the opportunity to go for it. If I’m successful, fantastic, if not, I have given it my best shot.” 

Queally joins experienced endurance riders Steven Burke, Ed Clancy and Chris Newton with Ben Swift and Andy Tennant providing younger, but no less talented, legs. Defending team pursuit champions Denmark will be a hard act to beat on home soil.

Sir Chris Hoy goes to Copenhagen with high hopes of regaining the world champion titles in the sprint disciplines after bowing out of last year’s championships with injury. In the women’s sprint line-up, defending sprint world champion Victoria Pendleton is joined by young guns Jess Varnish and Rebecca James.

Few would bet against the British women’s team pursuit line-up of Lizzie Armitstead, Wendy Houvenaghel and Joanna Rowsell failing to defend their world champion status.

GB cycling performance manager Shane Sutton said the team are already looking firmly ahead to London 2012.

“The Worlds in Copenhagen will be about assessing where we are, right here, right now.

“We know what is going to be needed at the London Olympics so we need to go to the Worlds and assess where we are and how far we have got to go. I’ve noticed a high morale across the team and there is a bit of buzz around these Worlds as the days to 2012 are counting down.”

Team GB squad for UCI Track Cycling World Championships, Copenhagen, Denmark
Men’s Sprint

Matt Crampton
Dave Daniell
Ross Edgar
Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny

Men’s Endurance
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Chris Newton
Jason Queally
Ben Swift
Andy Tennant

Women’s Sprint

Rebecca James
Victoria Pendleton
Jess Varnish

Women’s Endurance
Lizzie Armitstead
Anna Blyth
Katie Colclough
Wendy Houvenaghel
Joanna Rowsell

2009 track world champions
Sprint, men – Gregory Bauge (France)
Sprint, women – Victoria Pendleton (Great Britain)
Team sprint, men – France (Bauge, Bourgain, Sireau)
Team sprint, women – Australia (McCulloch, Meares)
Keirin, men – Maximilian Levy (Germany)
Keirin, women – Shuang Guo (China)
Time trial, men – Stefan Nimke (Germany)
Time trial, women – Simona Krupeckaite (Lithuania)
Individual pursuit, men – Taylor Phinney (USA)
Individual pursuit, women – Alison Shanks (New Zealand)
Team pursuit, men – Denmark (Christensen, Jorgensen, Madsen, Rasmussen)
Team pursuit, women – Great Britain (Armitstead, Houvenaghel, Rowsell)
Points race, men – Cameron Meyer (Australia)
Points race, women – Giorgia Bronzini (Italy)
Scratch race, men – Morgan Kniesky (France)
Scratch race, women – Yumari Gonzalez Valdiveso (Cuba)
Madison, men – Denmark (Michael Morkov & Alex Rasmussen)
Madison, women – N/A

Related links

Queally in the frame for world’s team pursuit call-up

International track results 2009-10

Cycling Weekly’s dummies guide to track racing

Cycling Weekly subscription thin