Team Sky's Critérium du Dauphiné squad announcement takes one rider by surprise

Chris Froome will lead Team Sky at the Critérium du Dauphiné, which starts on Sunday, and he has a strong supporting cast around him

Ian Boswell signs on for Stage 6 of the 2015 Tour of Langkawi
(Image credit: Watson)

Chris Froome will have to beat the likes of Vincenzo Nibali, Alejandro Valverde and Joaquim Rodriguez if he is to win a second Critérium du Dauphiné, but he will have a strong squad to support him over the eight stages.

Fellow Brits Peter Kennaugh, Luke Rowe and Ian Stannard will help out, as will the Irish duo of Philip Deignan and Nicolas Roche. Ian Boswell and Wout Poels round out the eight man squad.

For Boswell, however, the announcement of his inclusion on the Sky Twitter feed came as a bit of a surprise.

Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 15.13.22

Froome's likely henchman at the Tour de France, Richie Porte, sits out after his Giro d'Italia exploits, as do other potential Tour riders Leopold König and Mikel Nieve.

Geraint Thomas will ride the Tour de Suisse the following week as a likely warmup for another Tour campaign.

Team Sky have a strong history at the Dauphiné, winning three consecutive editions between 2011-13 through Sir Bradley Wiggins (2011 & 2012) and Froome (2013).

Team Sky squad for the Critérium du Dauphiné

Chris Froome

Ian Boswell

Peter Kennaugh

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Philip Deignan

Nicolas Roche

Wout Poels

 Inside Team Sky's mechanic truck

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.