Critérium du Dauphiné

Where: France
When: June 3-10 2018
Rank: UCI WorldTour

The Critérium du Dauphiné marks the traditional run-in to the Tour de France, and so all eyes are on how the top contenders ride.

Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) won the general classification, becoming the fifth British rider to win the overall.

The race began with a 6.6km prologue time trial, won by Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) whilst Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) claimed stage one from a reduced bunch sprint.

The second stage resulted in another bunch finish – won by Pascal Ackermann (Bora-Hansgrohe). Kwiatkowski came down hard in the closing kilometres, and though he was able to finish, bonus points accumulated by Impey meant he accelerated into the lead.

Stage three’s Team Time Trial was won by Team Sky – putting Kwiatkowski back into prime position.

However, on stage four, whilst Team Sky worked hard to draw in a break, once the catch was made it was Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) who was able to take the win – with Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) leapfrogging his own team mate to wear the leader’s jersey.

Stage five saw a bit of a shake up, though the lead stayed with Team Sky as Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) moved into first on GC, whilst Dan Martin (UAE Team Emirates) took the win after a stinging attack with 3km to go.

Thomas maintained his lead into the final stage, winning with a margin on one minute over Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott), who won the final stage.

Criterium du Dauphiné – Final General Classification

1. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky in 24-43-12
2. Adam Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott at 1-00
3. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 1-47
4. Dan Martin (Ire) UAE Team Emirates at 2-35
5. Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC at 2-44
6. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora Hansgrohe at 3-05
7. Pierre Latour (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale at 4-05
8. Pierre Rolland (Fra) EF Education First – Drapac at 4-22
9. Daniel Navarro (Esp) Cofidis at 4-331
10. Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha Alpecin at 4-45

Critérium du Dauphiné 2018 stages

Prologue, Sunday June 3, Valence to Valence, 6.6km ITT | Report
Stage 1, Monday June 4, Valence to Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert, 179km | Report | Video
Stage 2, Tuesday June 5, Montbrison to Belleville, 181km | ReportVideo
Stage 3, Wednesday June 6, Pont-de-Vaux to Louhans-Châteaurenaud  35km TTT | Report | Video 
Stage 4, Thursday June 7, Chazey-sur-Ain to Lans-en-Vercors, 181km  | Report | Video 
Stage 5, Friday June 8, Grenoble to Valmorel, 130km | Report
Stage 6, Saturday June 9, Frontenex to La Rosière Espace San Bernardo, 110km  | Report
Stage 7, Sunday June 10, Moûtiers to Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc, 136km  | Report

Critérium du Dauphiné 2018 map

Lasting for eight days, the Critérium du Dauphiné is a sort of compressed version of the Tour, with a variation of Alpine mountains, time-trials, flat and hilly stages held across France’s terrain that resembles what awaits the riders come July.

This race has in the past been a key focus for Chris Froome and Team Sky: not only have the team won five of the past seven editions (twice through Bradley Wiggins in 2011 and 2012 and three times through Froome in 2013, 2015 and 2016), they also tend to dominate the race with imposing performances across the whole team, with their supporting riders often outperforming other teams’ leaders.

However, having won the Giro d’Italia in May, Froome is sitting out the 2018 Dauphiné with team-mates Michal Kwiatkowski and Geraint Thomas instead taking up the mantle of Sky leaders.

Defending 2017 champion Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) is another rider absent from the 2018 edition, but strong general classification contenders come in the shape of Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates), Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), Adam Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Romain Bardet (Ag2r La Mondiale).

The 2018 route can be broadly split in two halves, with the opening four days featuring a prologue time trial and two hilly stages followed by stage four’s pan-flat 35km team time trial.

Then it is on to a mountainous second half, with four stages offering stiff climbing challenges and each one with an uphill finish, ensuring that the general classification battle will go right to the line in Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc on Sunday, June 10.

Key info: Critérium du Dauphiné live TV guide | Start list | Seven things to look out for

Critérium du Dauphiné: Recent winners

2018 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
2017 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana
2016 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2015 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2014 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp
2013 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2012 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky
2011 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky
2010 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) RadioShack
2009 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d’Epargne
2008 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d’Epargne
2007 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Ag2r Prevoyance

Eurosport will have live coverage of the 2018 Critérium du Dauphiné, beginning on June 3, a chance to see the Tour de France contenders in action.

The eight day Critérium du Dauphiné (June 3-10) represents an important marker in the run-up to the Tour de France, and many of its General Classification winners have gone on…