Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) has won Fleche Wallone for the third year running. The Dutchwoman is the first rider to take the race three times in a row.

Second was Emma Johansson (Red Sun Cycling) and third Claudia Hausler (Cervélo).

Nicole Cooke (Vision 1) , aiming for a record fourth win in the event, finished sixth at 21 seconds, while Emma Pooley (Cervélo) crashed out of the race early on.

With 30 riders in the front group late on, an acceleration by Hausler whittled it down to five at the foot of the Mur, and a second acceleration by the German brought it down to the three podium finishers.

With 500 metres to go, Vos charged away, with Johansson second but remaining the World Cup leader, and Haussler taking third.

?It?s never easy to win this race, but I got a bigger gap than previous years, so I?m pleased,? Vos said later.

?Taking it three times is something special, and taking it three times in a row even more so.?

1. Marianne Vos (Ned) DSB Bank ? LTO in 2-35-40
2. Emma Johansson (Swe) Red Sun Cycling Team at 6secs
3. Claudia Häusler (Ger) Cervelo TestTeam at 10secs
4. Amber Neben (USA) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung at 15secs
5. Noemi Cantele (Ita) Bigla Cycling Team at 20secs
6. Nicole Cooke (GBr) Vision 1 Racing at 21secs
7. Mara Abbott (USA) Team Columbia Highroad Women at 22secs
8. Christiane Soeder (Aut) Cervelo TestTeam at 28secs
9. Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Team Flexpoint at 31secs
10. Marta Vila Josana Andreu (Spa) Team Cmax Dila at 33secs
Other British
18. Catherine Hare (GBr) Fenixs
22. Lizzie Armitstead (GBr) Lotto-Belisol Ladies team
Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervélo
Helen Wyman (GBr) Vision 1 Racing
Gabriella Day (GBr) Vision 1 Racing

Fleche Wallonne 2009 photo gallery by Graham Watson
Vos wins women’s Fleche Wallonne
Pooley gets the all clear after crashing heavily
Fleche Wallonne 2009: The Big Preview
Fleche Wallonne Feminine 2009: The Big Preview
2009 Spring Classics: The Cycling Weekly hub – reports, photos, results and more
Fleche Wallonne 2008: Kim Kirchen takes the High Road
Fleche Wallonne 2008: photo gallery
Follow Cycling Weekly on Twitter>>