Marcin Bialoblocki wins An Post Ras; Felix English wins Milk Race

News logo

Team UK Youth's Polish ace Marcin Bialoblocki secured overall victory in the An Post Ras in Ireland on Sunday after a string of consistently strong performances throughout the week.

Good back-up from his team-mates meant that Bialoblocki wore the leader's yellow jersey for six of the eight days. Despite not winning any of the eight stages, he was on the podium three times and in the top ten on six occasions.

"It's incredible," he said as he stepped off the podium after the final stage in Skerries. "To hold on to the yellow jersey for six days is great. My team mates worked so hard for me. There was big pressure before the final stage because I didn't have any time bonuses and I could've easily lost the jersey."

Back in England, The Milk Race proved popular to both riders and spectators alike, with large crowds heading to Nottingham to watch a quality field for both the men's and women's criteriums.

Rapha Condor-JLT celebrated having two riders on the podium in the men's hour-long race. Felix English took the win, while Ed Clancy was third, and Team Raleigh's Alex Blain was sandwiched in between in second spot.

And in the women's race Wiggle Honda also had two riders on the podium, with Dani King winning and Amy Roberts third. MG Maxifuel rider Hannah Barnes took second.

In North Yorkshire, Southampton's Jon Dibben secured victory in the York Cycleworks Road Race, the 19-year-old holding off the experienced Tom Barras (Wheelbase) and Metaltek's Kit Gilham for the win at the end of the 70-mile race near Brandsby.

Four times British junior MTB champion, Richard Phillips-Schofield won the UK Emergency Services Road Race Championships in Staffordshire on Sunday.

The Hampshire policeman placed eighth in the 1999 world junior championships, but took an extended break from the sport until recently. Stourbridge Velo's Lee Plant took second, and Aled Jones (Avon and Somerset Police) was third.

Felt-Colbornes-Hargroves took first and third in the Inverse Spring Criterium at Hillingdon on Saturday, with Justin Hoy winning from Madison Genesis rider Chris Snook, while Lee Smith took third for Felt.

Jack Sadler (Vanilla Bikes) won the Aberystwyth Seafront Criteriums on Friday, just holding off fellow teenager Elliot Jones (Paramount CRT).

And in the opening round of the CC London Criterium Series, Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM) took victory ahead of Tom Fitzpatrick (Kingsnorth International) with Luke Ryan (Twenty 3C) third.

And in Cornwall, Spin Rotor Primal C secured a one-two in the third and final round of the Cornish Series at RAF Portreath. James Smith won while team-mate Nick Pilborough was second.

Bank Holiday Monday's North Road Circuit Race at the Redbridge circuit in Essex was won by Twenty 3C rider Luke Ryan, while Jason White (unattached) and Adam French (Rapha Condor) were second and third respectively.

Related links

Hutchinson and Shaw defend National 10-mile TT titles

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1