Mark Cavendish wins De Panne stage two

Mark Cavendish wins stage two of Three Days of De Panne 2013

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) won the bunch sprint at the end of stage two of the Three Days of De Panne on Wednesday.

Having lost out to Peter Sagan (Cannondale) in the hillier opening stage, the whole Omega Pharma squad rallied around Cavendish to set him up for a sprint win - although the team had run out of lead-out men by the final kilometre.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.