Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013: Coverage index

Welcome to Cycling Weekly‘s coverage of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013, which gets underway in Kirkcaldy on May 14.

This page serves as a hub for all of our coverage of this year’s event – as well as the Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series – from reports and exclusive rider blogs to the latest news to photo galleries.

That the Tour Series is primarily a team-based event is arguably its unique selling point. The squad who has the lowest culmulative score for their first three riders across the line wins each round, although individual glory is still on offer.

Consistency and teamwork is needed to take the overall victory, as Endura Racing proved last year. They won seven of the 12 rounds (including the first four), and averaged 9.1 points per round. They comfortably won the overall title, but just five points separating Rapha-Condor-JLT, UK Youth, Raleigh and Node4-Giordana.

Pearl Izumi have replaced Halfords as the series sponsor, IG will now back the Sprints Competition and Costa Express have put their name to the new Fastest Lap competition.

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013: Schedule
For the second year running, the Tour Series will comprise of 12 races across 11 venues. Also per 2012, Kirkcaldy and Durham will open the series, Aberystwyth will host a Friday night round, and Stoke-on-Trent, Torquay, Colchester, Redditch, Canary Wharf and Woking will all welcome the series once again.

The two new venues on the 2013 schedule are Aylsham and Grand Final host Ipswich. The latter will stage two races; a team time trial and a criterium.

Round Date Host Report Rider blog
One Tuesday, May 14 Kirkcaldy >>> >>> >>>
Two Thursday, May 16 Durham >>> >>> >>>
Three Tuesday, May 21 Stoke-on-Trent >>> >>>
Four Friday, May 24 Aberystwyth >>> >>>
Five Tuesday, May 28 Torquay >>> >>>
Six Thursday, May 30 Colchester >>> >>>
Seven Tuesday, June 4 Redditch >>> >>> >>>
Eight Thursday, June 6 Canary Wharf >>> >>>
Nine Tuesday, June 11 Woking >>> >>>
Ten Thursday, June 13 Aylsham >>> >>>
Eleven Friday, June 14 Ipswich TTT >>> >>>
Twelve Friday, June 14 Ipswich >>> >>>

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013: Rider blogs
Cycling Weekly will have rider blogging throughout  this year’s Tour Series, offering insight, comment and humour from the fast-paced proceedings.

Round One: Tom Murray (Metaltek-Knights of Old) in Kirkcaldy
Round Two: Rob Adlard (Velo29-Blackhawk) in Durham
Round Four: Ian Bibby (Madison Genesis) in Aberystwyth
Round Five: George Pym (Spin Rotor-Primal C-Originals) in Torquay
Round Six: Liam Stones (MG-Maxifuel) in Colchester
Round Seven: Dan Barry (Node4-Giordana) in Redditch 

Round Eight: Roger Hammond (Madison Genesis) in Canary Wharf
Round Nine: Felix English (Rapha-Condor-JLT) in Woking

Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series 2013: Introduction
The five-round women’s series looks set to be the best yet, as the quality of Britain’s teams should make the racing unpredictable and entertaining throughout.

2012 champion Annie Simpson will be racing for Team Hope, and her predecessor Helen Wyman will line up for Matrix Fitness.

Round Date Host Report Rider blog
One Tuesday, May 21 Stoke-on-Trent >>> >>> >>>
Two Thursday, May 30 Colchester >>> >>>
Three Tuesday, June 4 Redditch >>> >>> >>>
Four Tuesday, June 11 Woking >>>
Five Thursday, June 13 Aylsham >>> >>>

Johnson Health Tech Grand Prix Series 2013: Rider blogs

Round One: Louise Mahé (Mule Bar Girl) in Stoke-on-Trent

Round Two: Hannah Barnes (MG-Maxifuel) in Colchester

Round Three: Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing) in Redditch

Round Five: Jessie Walker (Matrix Fitness) in Aylsham

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2013: TV Schedule
ITV4 will once again bring the Tour Series into your home with their hour-long highlights programmes.

ITV4 can be found on Freeview (channel 24), Freesat (channel 117), Sky (channels 120 [standard definition] and 228 [high definition]), Virgin Media (channel 118) and online via

The broadcaster’s on-demand service ITV Player service will also have the coverage available to watch online at a later date.

Round Host TV Schedule
One Kirkcaldy Wednesday, May 15 @ 10pm
Two Durham Friday, May 17 @ 10pm
Three Stoke-on-Trent Wednesday, May 22 @ 10pm
Four Aberyswyth Monday, May 27 @ 10pm
Five Torquay Wednesday, May 29 @ 10pm
Six Colchester Friday, May 31 @ 10pm
Seven Redditch Wednesday, June 5 @ 10pm
Eight Canary Wharf Friday, June 7 @ 10pm
Nine Woking Wednesday, June 12 @ 10pm
Ten Aylsham Friday, June 14 @ 10pm
Eleven Ipswich TTT Monday, June 17@ 10pm
Twelve Ipswich Monday, June 17@ 10pm


Related links

2013 Tour Series schedule confirmed

East Anglian finish to 2013 Tour Series

Halfords Tour Series: 2012 coverage index

Halfords Tour Series: 2011 coverage index