Movistar announces first three riders for Giro d'Italia

Beñat Intxausti, Ion Izagirre and Juanjo Lobato are named in the Movistar squad for May's Giro d'Italia, with riders to fight it out in the Tour of Romandie for the remaining places

Lobato wins stage two of the 2015 Tour Down Under

(Image credit: Watson)

With a title to defend, Movistar has announced three riders who will make up their team for May's Giro d'Italia, but last year's champion Nairo Quintana will not be present.

The Colombian will skip the year's first three-week Grand Tour in favour of challenging for the overall title at the Tour de France in July.

But Movistar's hopes will lie with Beñat Intxausti and Ion Izagirre in the challenging Italian mountains, while Juan Jose Lobato will be the team's hope in the sprint competition.

Lobato got off to a flying start in 2015, picking up his first win at the Tour Down Under and notching up three top-five finishes at the Tour of Dubai on his way to third overall.

Izagirre, meanwhile, comes off a strong Tour of the Basque Country, where he finished on the third step of the podium and Intxausti managed the same position at the Ruta del Sol back in February.

The rest of the team will be decided after the Tour of Romandie (April 28-May 3), with Igor Antón, Javier Moreno, Eros Capecchi and Giovanni Visconti in contention for the remaining six places.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1