Who’s out of the Vuelta a España after stage 12

We've seen a fair few retirements in the Vuelta a España so far. Here is the definitive list of who won't be taking any further part in the race

Having seen a record number of starters remain until the first rest day at the Tour de France in July, a tough route and some tired bodies has seen a huge number of retirements from the Vuelta a España.

There have been crashes a plenty, including two for Astana leader Miguel Angel Lopez, who continued after losing a few teeth only to crash again and have to abandon the race.

Simon Clarke of Cannondale-Drapac also hit the tarmac, fracturing his shoulder in a crash on stage 10, although he did make it to the finish, only to discover the full extent of his injuries.

Here is the full list of abandonments ahead of stage 13 of the race.

Stage 12
Nathan Haas (Dimension Data)
Florian Sénéchal (Cofidis)
Fabrice Jeandesboz (Direct Energie)

Stage 11
Silvio Herklotz (Bora-Argon 18)
Simon Clarke (Cannondale-Drapac)
Patrick Bevin (Cannondale-Drapac)
Jose Goncalves (Caja Rural)

Stage 10
Bartosz Huzarski (Bora-Argon 18)
Markel Irizar (Trek-Segafredo)
Kevin Reza (FDJ)

Stage nine
Igor Anton (Dimension Data)
Yoann Bagot (Cofidis)
Tony Hurel (Direct Energie)
Enrico Battaglin (LottoNL-Jumbo)

Stage seven
Rein Taaramae (Katusha)
Niccolo Bonifazio (Trek-Segafredo)
Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)

Stage six
Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana)
Sebastian Minard (Ag2r La Mondiale)
Robert Kiserlovski (Tinkoff)Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo)

Stage five
Lluis Mas (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA)
Murilo Fischer (FDJ)

Stage four
Federico Zurlo (Lampre-Merida)
Vicente Reynes (IAM Cycling)

Stage three
Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin)