Rapha Condor JLT win Revolution Elite Championship

Ed Clancy, Revolution 40, 2013

Rapha Condor JLT sealed overall victory in the Elite Championship as Revolution Series Season 10 concluded at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow on Saturday evening.

Revolution visited Scotland for the first time, and the sold-out crowd of nearly 4,000 spectators watched German outfit Rudy Project RT push Rapha Condor JLT all the way for the title.

There were just 16 points between the two teams going into the final (of four) Elite Championship event of the season: Ed Clancy's fourth place in the Scratch Race was enough to secure overall victory for Rapha Condor JLT.

Clancy had earlier made it four out of four wins for the season in the Flying Lap, as his team tightened their grip on the Elite Championship in the first event of the evening.

The Barnsley-born Clancy, a reigning Olympic and World team pursuit champion, produced another superb ride to win a competitive Points Race.

Rudy Project RT kept up their own challenge as Christian Grasmann came second, with Simon Yates (Maxgear Racing) third.

Third on the bill in the Elite Championship was Round 2 of the Madison Time Trial, and what a race it turned out to be.

It looked like Rudy Project RT had snatched it from Team Rouleur, but after geeing up the home crowd, McCallum and Clancy stormed round in for Rapha Condor JLT's third victory of the night. McCallum and Clancy snatched victory but the battle for the Elite Championship went right to the wire.

Rudy Project RT soon hit back as Nico Hesslich won the Elimination Race, leaving a very narrow 16 points between the two teams, and Clancy's brave effort in the Scratch Race was a fitting way to secure the overall title.

In the DHL Future Stars, Emily Haycox (Howies) overhauled Jessica Roberts in the final race of the season, the Scratch Race, and took the title by seven points. Emily Nelson (Team IG Sigma Sport) was third overall.

Levi Moody (Sportscover), who led the way ahead of the final round in the Boy's competition, held on for victory with 282 points overall. Thomas Rotherham (Maxgear Racing) was second and Tristan Robbins (howies) was third.

Watch highlights on ITV4 at 8pm on Thursday February 7. Repeated 11.50am Thursday February 8 and available for 30-day catch-up in ITV Player.

All photos by: © Crankphoto.co.uk

Glasgow's Sir Chris Hoy velodrome is open for business

Craig MacLean and Kevin Mansker

Keirin kicks off

Ed Clancy salutes the crowd

Rapha Condor JLT celebrate the series win

Future Stars winners: Levi Moody and Emily Haycox

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1