Team Sky closes season at Japan Cup

Richie Porte, Tour de France 2013, stage five

Team Sky will close out its successful 2013 season at the Japan Cup on Sunday, October 20, with Josh Edmondson, Richie Porte, Bernhard Eisel, Joe Dombrowski and David Lopez lining up for the British-based squad.

Lopez goes into the one-day race after placing third overall in the Tour of Beijing in China last weekend behind Benat Intxausti (Movistar) and Dan Martin (Garmin-Sharp).

Last year's Japan Cup was won by Ivan Basso (Cannondale), who will line up for the race again this year. Runner-up in 2012 and winner in 2010, Martin will also take part - he'll be accompanied by Garmin team-mate and 2011 winner Nathan Haas.

WorldTour teams Omega Pharma-QuickStep, Lampre-Merida, Saxo-Tinkoff and RadioShack-Leopard also field five-man teams alongside Sky, Cannondale and Garmin-Sharp.

The Japan Cup is ranked as a 1.HC category event by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI). The race is held around a hill circuit in Utsunomiya.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.