Team Sky’s 2012 line-up

British-based WorldTour squad Sky has all but finalised its roster for the 2012 season, and looks set to be one of the strongest teams on the top-tier race circuit.

With the addition of sprinter Mark Cavendish and the confirmation of Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins’ Grand Tour credentials, the 28-rider team has strength-in-depth for its third season on the road.

Sky ended up in second spot in the Union Cycliste Internationale’s 2011 WorldTour team ranking behind Omega Pharma-Lotto.

The number of British riders on the squad has been maintained at 10. Cavendish and Great Britain academy rider Luke Rowe take the place of out-going Brits Russell Downing (as yet unsigned) and Steve Cummings (to BMC).

Other riders set to leave the squad are Greg Henderson, Kurt-Asle Arevesen (retiring, but staying with Sky as directeur sportif), Kjell Carlstrom, Simon Gerrans, John-Lee Augustyn, Serge Pauwels, Dario Cioni and Morris Possoni.

Joining the squad with Cavendish and Rowe are Bernhard Eisel, Danny Pate, Kanstanstin Siutsou, Sergio Henao, Richie Porte and Salvatore Puccio.

Twenty riders either continue their existing contracts or have signed new contracts with Sky for 2012.

Team Sky 2012 line-up
Davide Appollonio (Ita)
Michael Barry (Can)
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)
Mark Cavendish (GBr) – from HTC Highroad
Alex Dowsett (GBr)
Bernhard Eisel (Aut) – from HTC Highroad
Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa)
Chris Froome (GBr)
Mathew Hayman (Aus)
Sergio Henao (Col) – from Gobernacion de Antioquia
Jeremy Hunt (GBr)
Peter Kennaugh (GBr)
Christian Knees (Ger)
Thomas Lofkvist (Swe)
Lars-Petter Nordhaug (Nor)
Danny Pate (USA) – from HTC Highroad
Richie Porte (Aus) – from Saxo Bank-SunGard
Salvatore Puccio (Ita) – from Menfi-AG
Michael Rogers (Aus)
Luke Rowe (GBr) – from GB Academy
Kanstanstin Siutsou (Blr) – from HTC Highroad
Ian Stannard (GBr)
Chris Sutton (Aus)
Ben Swift (GBr)
Geraint Thomas (GBr)
Rigoberto Uran (Col)
Bradley Wiggins (GBr)
Xabier Zandio (Spa)

Leaving Team Sky
Kurt Asle-Arvesen (Nor) retired, takes role as Sky directeur sportif
John-Lee Augustyn (RSA) TBC
Kjell Carlstrom (Fin) TBC
Dario Cioni (Ita) TBC
Steve Cummings (GBr) to BMC Racing
Russell Downing (GBr) TBC
Simon Gerrans (Aus) to GreenEdge
Greg Henderson (NZ) to Lotto-Ridley
Serge Pauwels (Bel) to Omega Pharma-Quick Step
Morris Possoni (Ita) TBC

Related links

Cycling Weekly’s Transfer Index