Tony Martin wins Criterium du Dauphine time trial

Stage winner Tony Martin, Criterium du Dauphine 2013, stage 4 ITT

World time trial champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) won the Criterium du Dauphine's individual test against the clock on Wednesday.

Australian Rohan Dennis (Garmin-Sharp) was the surprise package of the day, finishing second behind Martin at 47 seconds. British hope Chris Froome (Sky) was third at 52 seconds - the first of the overall contenders.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.