USA confirms plans to bid for 2015 World Champs

Thor Hushovd, World Championships 2010, men's road race

The USA will bid to host the 2015 World Championships in Richmond, Virginia. Mayor of Richmond, Dwight Jones announced today that his city will bid to the International Cycling Union (UCI) next year.

"More than 25 years have passed since this event was held in the USA, since then, America has had two World Champions - Greg LeMond and Lance Armstrong - and three Grand Tour winners - Greg LeMond, Andrew Hampton and Lance Armstrong," said Mayor Jones.

"I think it's time the United States hosted another World Championships, and I think it should be here in Richmond, Virginia."

Italy's Moreno Argentin won the 1986 edition in Colorado Springs, Colorado, the last time the World Championships were in the USA.

"When you bring this event home, you put the dream in many young people's minds," said Steve Johnson, CEO of USA Cycling. "Many years later, there will be some young person, who saw this event from their front lawn, standing on the podium somewhere."

Hamilton, Canada, hosted the last World Championships in North America seven years ago in 2003. Canada will be USA's main rival for 2015 as Québec's mayor, Régis Labeaume expressed his interest with the UCI in February. Both countries have a chance as the UCI said it wants to organise its top event outside of Europe in 2015.

The World Championships in Geelong, Australia, this year was the first time the event was held outside Europe since the 2003 edition. In the time trials, Britain's Emma Pooley won gold and David Millar took silver behind four-time winner Fabian Cancellara of Switzerland. Norwegian Thor Hushovd won the men's road race.

During the Worlds, the UCI awarded Florence the 2013 edition. Next year, it will award the 2014 edition and in September 2012, Richmond will learn if it will host the 2015 edition.

Host/candidate cities

2010 Geelong, Australia

2011 Copenhagen, Denmark

2012 Limburg Provence, The Netherlands

2013 Florence, Italy

2014 Hooglede-Gits and Namur, Belgium; France

2015 Québec, Canada; Richmond, USA

The first edition took place in July 1927 at the Nürburgring in Germany. Italian Alfredo Binda won.

Related links

USA to bid for 2015 World Championships

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly: The perfect Christmas gift>>

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1