Cavendish increases overall lead in Ster ZLM Toer

Mark Cavendish, Giro d'Italia 2012, stage 20

Mark Cavendish (Sky) strengthened his position in the overall lead of the Ster ZLM Toer on Saturday, placing second behind Lars Boom (Rabobank) in the race's third stage.

What is worthy of remark is that Cavendish was part of a small lead group on a seriously hilly stage with a sharp uphill kick to the line that was dominated by classics men such as Boom and Cavendish's Sky team-mate Juan Antonio Flecha, who finished in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.